Coding No More?

Two surprising things have happened.

First, I have admitted to myself that I have grown tired of coding.

Second, I have been reading business books, and will be reading some more. I choose these from the Personal MBA reading list.

How did this happen?

After being a programmer for 23 years – since age 11 – I have grown tired of it. I do code for work, but I no longer relish the thought of coding in my spare time. No personal hobby projects. Sadly, no open source contributions – a cause for open source angst. Who would write Pinoy open source now? I still hope some of the younger generation pick it up. Perhaps that itch to scratch will find its way back to me.

Will it come back? Perhaps. It could just be a phase.

I now find analyzing requirements and writing specifications and designs interesting. I used to think that this was a boring, or even unnecessary activity – just hack away on hardcore tech! I guess understanding this stuff is part of growing older – and wiser, I hope?

I still love software development. The difference is that I see it from a wider perspective.

9 Responses

  1. Dude,

    Maybe, just maybe… you just finally grew up 😉

  2. Does that mean, people who stick to coding don’t grow up? Software dev neverland?

  3. maybe you just need a long vacation … at least a month long … without writing a single line of code. the recent java tech days had renewed my interest in coding (w/c i don’t get to do much anymore nowadays … sigh)

  4. Maybe that kind of thing really happens to everyone … I used to enjoy coding a lot – coming up with little side projects here are there. Nowadays I find myself still getting excited about the new stuff but do not have the patience to sit there and code. Somehow I am already contented with reading about something, coding a few lines just to see that it works and that’s it.

    I find it great that nowadays in my work, the younger programmers in my company have a lot of enthusiasm and are still excited to code. It frees me up from the doing the actual coding work and gives me time to come up with ideas and leave the actual development to them.

  5. I know what you mean! Thanks for sharing, I thought I was the only one who felt this way sometimes.

  6. Check out my biz book reading list on my FB profile – it would be great to share/discuss books with other interested (and interesting) people!

  7. Ugh, that’s sad to hear. Although I myself get tired of coding some times. But then in some way, more cool stuffs are coming out great lately. Probably on our Ruby world where almost a lot of things are new and stuff are being implemented/reimplemented.

    But then, hey! go attend the barcamp manila!

    And Migs, your comment font size are so small, I can’t barely see anything anymore.

  8. I haven’t been replying. This means – time to write a new post based on your comments!

    About the font size… I have no idea how to fix that. Need CSS/HTML help!

  9. Find this

    .commentlist li, #commentform input, #commentform textarea {
    font: 0.9em ‘Lucida Grande’, Verdana, Arial, Sans-Serif;
    }

    and try to replace it with this

    .commentlist li, #commentform input, #commentform textarea {
    font: 1em ‘Lucida Grande’, Verdana, Arial, Sans-Serif;
    }

Leave a Reply

