bittersweetness

I will forever associate the word “Bittersweet” with Marc Almond. That 1988 song is stuck in my head thanks to the NU 107/99.5 RT of that era, mixed with the a killer melody and lyrics that tempt you – “Let’s Go To Paradise Jack.” Ultimately nonsensical but filling for the moment.

Just like that, memories of my 1995-2002 ISP career haunt me.

Jim Ayson reminded me of this because of his post on the Philippine Cyberspace Review, with some significant but mostly forgotten Internet history information.

I once blogged that I will share more of my personal experiences. But I still feel the time isn’t right. I just have too much regret over missed opportunities and what-could-have-been. The bitter. On the other hand this was a career and life-changing six years. The sweet. Need one to have the other.

But I’ll leave the stories for the planned EB, if the stars on that night shine right.

One Response

  1. Hi Migs,

    The bygone era of ISP pioneers (1994/1995), I can still remember myself setting and putting up everything from scratch( BBS and ISP in one). CYBERNET has become one of my cherished memories as I and my colleagues have to get things done pronto. Even the Internet then doesn’t offer how-to build an ISP from scracth. 🙂 Information of several Internet technologies are very few and precious. Even local VAR doesn’t even know how to the Internet works.

    It was sweet and bitter, I learned a lot from my CyberNet days, business and technical wise. But as the saying goes, you always find arrows at the back of the pioneers.

    I can still feel mine.

Leave a comment