Hacking Tosh

I gave in. I am now trying to install the OSX86. Hackintosh. SteveOS.

I’m now trying “Kalway” 10.5.1. My best bet is the Acer 4710Z Gemstone, which is an Intel T2080, a Yonah like the original MacBook, with an Intel 943GML chipset. I was able to reach the installer application. The hard drive needs to be backed up before continuing, since OSX86 wants a dedicated drive to install on. I have a spare mobile hard drive which I could swap in, but, I don’t want to break the Acer warranty sticker since it’s still good til July 2008.

On the NForce 7050 Pro + AMD X2 3600, it doesn’t go far. But, on my newest box, based on Asus P5K-SE (P35 chipset) + Intel E8200, it also reaches the installer. But I read that the Attansic LAN card is not supported, and I don’t want to stick in a PCI card. I’d rather get it to work with virtualization, which did not work out.

I want to learn about the innards of OSX86. The tutorials, wiki pages and forums of installing Steve’s OS sure show the grungy depths of it. Stuff that the shiny Mac user doesn’t see – well, shouldn’t see. I also want to try some software development on the Mac platform.

I’m also being cheap and won’t buy a real Apple box (yet). I don’t need another computer. I won’t be able to take a MacBook on my trips, anyway

But even with the new Penryn Macs, MacBook Air, and other stuff now available, I’m over my old Mac envy.

7 Responses

  1. How far into the installation did you reach? Were you able to install Hackintosh Kaliway 10.5.1 into the hard disk?

    In my case, I installed into an external 3.5″ 160GB IDE drive connected via USB. Hackinctosh is beautiful, and it works on my cheapo Neo Empriva 540SVB Core Solo laptop with 1GB ram. I already downloaded Xcore 3.0 gcc/g++ SDK. But I have, as yet, no time for Mac programming.

  2. No, I didn’t continue the install. The Acer laptop’s’ hard drive contents need to be backed up. Hopefully, this weekend.

    I didn’t know it was possible to install into an external hard drive. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Almost 3 weeks later …

    Were you succesfull in installing the OS ?
    I’m about to buy an ASUS Z53SE (943GML chipset), so I’m very curious if this works out OK.

  4. It installs BUT it has a HARD LOCKUP after 15 minutes or so. No idea how to troubleshoot it.

    I’d be careful on buying a laptop/chipset based on Hackintosh compatibility. All bets are off!

  5. Copied from the original blog:

    From: DevilOcelot

    I have mine working all the way, Final Cut Studio 2, Adobe Master CS3, Modo, Maya, and other apps also works. just like a Mac Pro. the difference is only the looks of your machine.

  6. Hi miguel, i have a spare 4710 lying around and i’m trying to work on converting it to a hackintosh, i was wondering if you finally got your 4710 to run Mac Os? thanks!

  7. acer laptops have much brighter lcd screens compared to other brands .”:

Leave a Reply

