Aging

There are plenty of side projects that I can work on while here on my foreign assignment. I can do them after working at our client. I can do them on weekends, which are quite idle.

But I barely do them, Research & Development that used to be my lifeblood. Am I losing it as a techie?

Or, is it I’m becoming older. Physically, I’m less willing and capable of working 12 to 16 hours a day like I did ten years ago. Back then, I was very motivated and obsessed that I was working on something that would make it big. Did I succeed? Sadly no, not in my opinion. I guess I gained in a few small things but what I lost out on is enough to make me go thinking all the time, what could have been?

Part of what could have been would be: what if I spent more time in being a more artistic and cultured person? That is what I am trying to catch up on – the reason I make efforts at writing. But part of me says, I have to try a second time at success, I’m never too old, and aging is a good thing as it leads to maturity.

5 Responses

  1. Probably you’re just not as hungry as before. Remember back when you were in college, you were pretty hungry. So you need to simulate things that will make you hungrier.

  2. Hungry…financially? Still am.

    Hungry for challenges? That’s where I guess I’m getting lazy.

  3. maybe its not aging, you just want to do some other things, maybe you are just bored of oing those stuff for years now.

  4. Could be. On to the next thing! I still don’t know what.

  5. “But part of me says, I have to try a second time at success, I’m never too old, and aging is a good thing as it leads to maturity.”

    I agree. Try again.

    You are not old.

Leave a Reply

