Writing Roadblocks

These are some stumbling blocks to writing better and more often. I need to resolve these issues to move forward.

  • I feel writing about myself is vain.
  • If I share my feelings, they would either be egotistical or self-pitying.
  • I don’t want to share some things about myself. I’m embarassed.
  • I don’t want to talk about other people. I have no right to share things about them to the world, no matter how incidental.
  • My life is boring, there’s nothing to blog about unlike others.

To get some help, I asked my friend who specializes in these things. So, I’m now starting on Creative Nonfiction, A Manual for Filipino Writers by Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo.

5 Responses

  1. Not that I’m that much of a writer, but here’s my take:

    1. Write about things you are passionate about, even if it’s yourself. šŸ˜‰
    2. Writing is a craft, and like other crafts, you have to hone your skills. Discipline yourself into writing, say, 1,000 words a day? Sort of like NaNoWriMo.
    3. Write *for* others.
    4. Life is *ALWAYS* interesting, even the most mundane details.

    Good luck. šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the tips.

    Passionate about myself? Now that is egotistical and vain!

    I’ll take up the 1,000 words a day, though. Even if only a small fraction of that may be worth publishing here.

  3. Hi there,

    I think techies (I assume that’s You) really have a hard time talking about themselves. It’s the zero’s and the one’s in your blood šŸ™‚ No offense meant.

    Your item #4 smacks right into the nerve of the matter.

    Remember, even the dull and the ignorant have something to say šŸ™‚

    Just a thought.
    Cheers!

  4. I stopped writing for 8 loooong years and I had the same problem (and still have since I still couldn’t write short stories!), but what helped me was re-counting daily stuff by treating them as “news” and then everything just kept rolling out. And it helps not to think that someone’s reading your blog. Yun lang po =)

  5. hi migs,

    i was in the corporate word for a long time, now a freelancer. i’ve been thinking of putting up a blog or two. the problem is i’m a very private person and i share the same concerns about writing as you do. how does one make it genuine without making it sound egotistical?

    my suggestion is to think of an angle, you know a certain perspective — from which to view things. are you trying to be philosphical? inquiring, objective, entertaining, or whatever…ponder on your intentions kumbaga..

    just my two cents.. i’ve been toying with the idea because i absolutely loath the idea of writing about “myself”

Leave a Reply

