I, Unfilipino?

This is a rant about myself.

First, I’m apathetic. I admitted as much when
Nick of tingog.com asked me to write about Musa Dimasidsing. I didn’t even vote in the last elections (though that’s since I’m out of the country, and not due to apathy.)

I don’t care about Pinoy politics – I find world politics much more interesting and important. Nick did point out it is a social concern. There are some social issues I do care about, and I will post about them in the future. It looks like my blog topics are shifting. I guess there’s only so much I can write about business and tech!

Second, I have a lousy score on Lakbayan.



My Lakbayan grade is C-!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at
Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

On my first take, I got a D. Then I answered it again and remembered some places that I visited before but have long forgotten. The low score is because: I’m not fond of traveling. I really only travel for work. I have only lived in Metro Manila.

I do have plans of improving my score. There are some places I want to visit, more of the historical spots than the leisure places. Some are even inside Metro Manila – I’ve lived there my whole life but I have never been to Malabon, Navotas, Valenzuela, and Pateros!

On a tech note: I just have to commend Eugene. I’ve been struggling with a web app concept for weeks, but have come up with nothing. Here he comes with something viral!

12 Responses

  1. Don’t feel bad. We have the same grade! And C- and C are the most common grades I’ve seen. We still have a lifetime to see our beautiful country, right? πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the praise. I’m sure you’ll think up of ideas. You just have to open yourself up to things you see, read, and learn. We always have a “Wouldn’t it be cool if…” moments. πŸ™‚

  2. Migz, thank you for writing in acknowledgment. I am definitely with you regarding international politics.

    I’m sorry if I came out with such passion. You’ve been one of my favorite Filipino bloggers, and in that respect, your views always matter. As much as I am passionate about Philippine society, I am also as passionate about maintaining good relationships with fellow bloggers…

    Again, thank you for the time πŸ™‚

  3. well, eugene is right, there is still a lifetime to go over these wonderful places. its really quite ironic that people would say that they’ve been to other countries and rave about the beautiful things that can be found there but when one asks them about the home country, its the usual thing: boracay, puerto galera, baguio, the malls of metro manila…

    there are plenty of very beautiful places even near to metro manila and one has just to discover them.

  4. […] Migz Paraz wrote, I, Unfilipino?: First, I’m apathetic. I admitted as much when Nick of tingog.com asked me to write about Musa […]

  5. I replied to Nick in his post.

    Eugene/Estan,
    About visiting places, I think I’ll have something to post about in the future. First, I need to get home!

    Eugene,
    About apps, I’m now reading the 37Signals “Getting Real” book. I’m also done with Agile Rails and the Pragmatic Ruby book. So when the idea comes, the code won’t be far behind. (Hey wait I should post about this…)

  6. […] written by tatlumpong libong isda Alay Kay Musa Dimasidsing written by Susan β€œToots” Ople I, Unfilipino? written by Migz Paraz Add to del.icio.us | Digg this! | Yahoo MyWeb | Google Bookmark It! | […]

  7. […] Miguel Paraz/Migs| Join MyBlogLog […]

  8. […] an interesting application/exercise that I found on Migz blog. It’s called Lakbayan. Check out your […]

  9. Ayos lang yan, ako din C-, even if my wife and I started our travel agency business!

    And my wife, who operates the business, got a D!

    So we’re working to improve our score. With all the contacts (and sometimes, discounts) that are available to us, we’re going to cover as much ground as we can to improve that score.

  10. “Un-filipino” is a world I would hardly use to describe you, M.

    M

  11. I mean “word”. Goodness! Mental spellcheck mode is on, full-blast.

  12. I got an F 😦

    I think a lot of Filipinos will score between C and F. It might be just me, but I think it’s because most of them can’t afford it.

    Phil tourism: where foreigners are treated like kings and queens while the kapwa pinoys are treated second class.

Leave a Reply

