Blogging about Mental Illness

Blogging about mental illness is difficult.

Gail’s interview post where she answers my interview questions is insightful and revealing when talking about a family member. Now, I want to post more about my own experiences but to be honest I’m still quite embarrassed just thinking about them. These events transpired in 1998. Maybe next year, on the 10th anniversary, I will post and tell all.

For now I can just share that I have bipolar disorder, and am taking medicine until now. Yes, I’m still quirky. And I did my time in psychiatric wards, or “basements.” I had the strangest psychotic experiences there, and outside, and the crazy thing is that I can remember most of what happened. I can remember the warped thoughts I was thinking.

It wasn’t fun, in retrospect, so I don’t recommend doing something that will force you to go. (Like taking illegal drugs.) But, if you need to go, you should go.

6 Responses

  1. Woah. That’s definitely something I didn’t know about you, even if I read your six-quirks post.

    Well, it certainly makes you a more interesting person. I guess the medicines have kept you stable all these years?

  2. Interesting, in a quirky way?

    Since you’re the one who commented… the medicine I’m on now is Lithium and Valproic acid.

    When I was having psychosis problems (visual, auditory and tactile hallucinations), and thinking really weird thoughts, I was on Haloperidol, and maybe some others, I can’t recall.

  3. Yes, interesting in a quirky way. It just shows that you’re not just a run-of-the-mill smart guy whose expertise and knowledge is sought after. You’ve had experiences that puts you in a position to appreciate life and what it means to be human. It’s a human interest story thingy, and not in a Maalaala Mo Kaya sort of way. 🙂

  4. yep, its not. sometimes i have second thoughts about posting my experiences about being a bipolar. its not easy, there’s still a stigma, you know how some people would think that youre crazy na just because youre bp or youre taking medications.

    i have a lot of weird thoughts too and i can also swallow up to 3 or so tablets without water. i’m taking 5 anti-psychotic meds ’till now. maintenance is hella expensive, tsk.. tsk..

  5. My sister remembers her psychotic breaks too, and she was so embarrassed about it. Hehehe. It’s actually a good thing we can now laugh about what she did before during her tantrums

    Don’t be embarrassed 🙂 You should be proud. Not many people can say that they’ve gone through and survived something that you and my sister have gone through 🙂

  6. Eugene,
    That’s cute but you exaggerate 🙂 Of course people who know me from online communities and blogs only know about my tech side.

    Fortunately, there’s not much more about me. I’m really a boring person. (Though you know I like reading Wikipedia, does that count? hehe)

    venice,
    I guess there is a stigma but fortunately I have not encountered it. It’s more of, when people say I have bipolar, they don’t know what it is.

    Gail,
    I don’t talk about my experiences with family members. I’m not sure if I want to. But as you say, it’s an important experience so I do want it documented some time in the future.

Leave a Reply

