Podcasting thoughts

I haven’t been an avid podcast listener. Blame that on the lack of hardware: I don’t own any personal music players (iPods or their competition) since listening to music on earphones in painful. (I have tinnitus – ringing in the ears. I’ve had it checked and there’s no obvious cause. On the bright side, my hearing is perfect.) Listening to the podcast while working on the PC isn’t practical either since I can’t concentrate.

Lately I’ve had some listening success with the Nokia 6233 with its useful music player software (on Series 40 3rd Edition) and a headset. I also found out that it can record up to one hour to the memory card, in AMR format. Could I now record my own podcast?

I gave it some thought. What is there to talk about? While some podcaster/bloggers have no trouble recording their ‘casts, these are the people who have no problem blogging either. I on the other hand push out new posts with some difficulty. I also have no skills in sound editing and mixing music for post-production.

I think I’ll wait until I have other people to converse with – like the Band of Bloggers. Unless something significant really comes up that I need to record and broadcast in the spoken word.

7 Responses

  1. I don’t really like podcasts, both as an audience and as a producer. Unlike text, which you can skim through, you have to listen to the whole podcast to get the gist. Also, it’s already hard creating a well-thought-of blog post, without the post-production necessary to get a good quality podcast out the door.

  2. I’ve been a podcaster for almost two years now (started Sept ’05). So far, I’m enjoying it. But there are times that you become “blank” and can’t think of anything to talk about. Hahahaha πŸ™‚

  3. I like listening to podcasts. I listen to them while driving to work (it’s a long commute from Laguna to Alabang/Makati/Ortigas). I agree that it could get a bit distracting while working.

    A technical Pinoy podcast would be nice. But that could be just me because I’m a geek.

  4. I know it’s hard but I just got to try. Without having a boring monologue.

    I don’t drive to work and my public transportation commute is just 40-50 minutes so there’s little opportunity to listen.

    For technical Pinoy podcasts, I know of Keith Rull’s interview series. But… I haven’t listened to them. Oops!

  5. I’m not into iPods or their ilk either. When I’m at a public place, I don’t like the idea of being less aware of my environment. Guess I’m just paranoid that way.

    Also, I’ve had more than one occasion to honk my car’s horn at some idiot crossing the street with his iPod/mp3 player on too loud and not hearing me coming.

    Been curious about podcasts though. I’ve done video blogging before, but its mostly just personal and I wouldn’t necessarily want to share them except to family and friends.

    Podcasting is just another medium of expression. The first problem there is to actually have something to say; once that’s solved, it should be a cinch to do. I think. Heheh.

  6. I prefer listening to podcasts as opposed to making one. That’s why I don’t talk much in Abe’s BoBcast much when I’m there… Unless the topic is something close to my profession as a web designer/developer. I don’t like my recorded talking voice. But if you’re to talk to me, why not? hehehe. podcast tayo! πŸ˜€

  7. Gail,
    When I get home, I should join a BoBCast!

    Until then… maybe I can think about a script for my own podcast.

Leave a Reply

