Interview by Karla

Nina interviewed Karla Redor. Now, Karla interviews me!

  1. What is your dream tech start up?

    The dream tech startup is Telecoms and Internet related. Areas related to what I do for work now – except instead of just working on it, I will own it. Now you wonder why I post about “Web 2.0 startups” and related things? Because they are realistic and can be done in spare time, like the stories in Founders at Work. The telecom/Internet stuff are really expensive thus it’s just a dream for me.

  2. What do you think about RoR (Ruby on Rails)?

    I’m now studying Rails for fun in my spare time. It’s quite different from the Java work I do. I still have doubts about its scalability, as in the Twitter case. Still, I think it’s useful since it’s something I can run in my web host (a virtual private server). Java web applications are too expensive to run inside these servers due to memory requirements, and I could never learn PHP how much I try. Coming from a Computer Science background, I find it too messy. At least Rails has Ruby, which is a nice language.

    Now can I start my web startup with it? Maybe. But then to continue the previous question, one reason why I have the dream but still can’t get it done (to quote Entrepreneur Magazine) is – no idea. I elaborated on this in my not starting a startup post.

  3. What’s the best mashup in the web that you’ve seen/tried?

    I can’t name just one, but I’m fascinated by maps. I visit Dennis Agulo’s Wiki-Maps and Wikimapia often.

    At a previous job, I tried to integrate Google Maps with mobile phone LBS (location based service), but I couldn’t make a product out of it. Here’s sample output. I also hacked Google Maps support in the Roller Weblogger blog/aggregator platform when I was building a proof of concept for an aggregator for geo information coming from blogs, for disaster recovery and the like.

  4. If you’re going to run for the elections, what will your slogan be?

    You know, I’m quite apathetic about local politics. I find world politics more interesting. That said, I have to hand it to Marc’s Feels Great to be Pinoy post . I’ll make you feel great to be Pinoy! Ha. Doesn’t sound right coming from me.

  5. Amongst the countries that you’ve gone too, which one is the most unforgettable?

    Israel, no contest. I was there for the beginning of the 2006 Lebanon war. Other misadventures: back in 2001 (I wasn’t blogging yet), I was denied entry to Germany at Frankfurt Airport. And Seoul, Korea is the most “alien” place I’ve visited. Which reminds me, I plan to add more to my 43places page. All the places I’ve been to outside the country are all for work reasons. I’m actually not a big “vacation” person.

Your turn! Interview rules:

  1. Leave me a comment saying “Interview me.”
  2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
  3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
  4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
  5. 5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them
    five questions.

If I don’t know you well, give me time to find out more about you from your blog.

23 Responses

  1. ey migs,
    PHP syntax is somewhat similar to C/C++

  2. PHP syntax is somewhat similar to C/C++

    true, but i too find it a bit messy. reminds me of the old model 1 (jsp-centric) architecture way back

  3. That is right. But that’s not even it. The language and standard library feels like a hack to me.

  4. שָׁלוֹם,

    so what is the next big “migs” project? share!

    תּוֹדָה רַבָּה

  5. interview me naman 😀

  6. Me.. Interview ME!

  7. ako rin.. preferably with free-flowing coffee, lots of browwnies, and sylvannas and sans rival or cake or some other sweet forms of dessert. But I know you are in Singapore so I’ll just send you the bill.

    Maybe all those who dream of creating a tech startup can help each other achieve their dreams. I have a great and noble idea already but need some major help.

  8. Hi Jayvee, Noemi and Jun:

    I’m now thinking of your Forbidden Questions.

    Give me some time to email them to you because I just blog in my little spare time on weekends. On weekdays I use the office Internet connection and I don’t have time to blog, just comment.

  9. […] is a short interview from Migs Paraz. This is a tagged post from him. If you want me to send you my set of five interview questions, just leave a comment expressing […]

  10. […] we interrupt our regular programming for this rare meme that originated from I don’t know where — I can only go this far as to tracing where it came from is […]

  11. […] Here are 5 interview questions from Migs Paraz which is actually a tagged post. […]

  12. Heeey, interview me!

  13. I’m just going to enjoy reading all your interviews. 😀

  14. interview me! 😀

  15. […] asked Migz to interview me and here it is. He sent this to me quite a while back and I know I’ve been […]

  16. Thanks for answering the questions! I’m still very happy to interview more folks. C’mon Jozzua…

  17. I’m interested on what you’d like to ask me 😀 Interview me!!!

  18. […] I was interviewed, then interviewed other bloggers, and some of them replied: […]

  19. […] Migs Paraz interviews me in this cool meme. I’m becoming addicted to these meme-things. They’re irresistable! […]

  20. Wow, I didn’t know you are a fan of wiki maps. I haven’t touched the codes for more than 6 months now. Im more inspired now to bring it to life once again.

    Interview me!

  21. […] Migs […]

  22. interview me, migs. I won’t take a year and a half this time 🙂

Leave a Reply

