Problogging and Quitting your Job

Jayvee – one of the original Pinoy probloggers – asks bloggers if they can get time off from their job to attend a presscon.

My reply in his comments: No. This is conflict of interest with your day job. You can argue all day whether bloggers are media people or not, the fourth medium after print, radio and TV. But if you attend press events, then you’re not just a “‘writer” who writes about what you see and hear. Even if you can honestly say that you are writing without bias, still the direction of what you write about is shaped by the event.

So, quit your day job. Or work on something where you don’t have to commit your time.

The definition of “problogger” has been debated in the past, but I think it’s becoming clear to me. I posted earlier on why I’m not a problogger, but now I see it’s less about the money and more about the effort. If I put Adsense on this blog, earn from it, but continue to post like I do, I don’t think I’m a problogger.

Obviously, I’m not quitting my job. I came across Steve Pavlina’s 10 Reasons You Should Never Get A Job, thanks to Stellify. This guy has weird posts and many people in the blogosphere think so as well. But, it’s still food for thought.

While it’s not for me, or not for everyone, those who made the decision (or the leap!) should be commended. Like Marc Villanueva. For the rest of us, we need to balance our day-job career and our other activities like problogging and earning Adsense money on the side.

7 Responses

  1. Migs,

    New lurker here. I was in the healthcare field (here in the U.S) and blogged for about 4 years in my spare time. As luck and perseverance would have it, my product blog was bought out. That, and a couple of other blog consultancy projects has allowed me to quit my “day” job and pursue this hobby full time. Just like any other small business it has its challenges but I still feel very blessed to be able to do whatever I wished to do whenever I want to. A couple more gigs like this and I hope to be able to retire back home. Blog power to the people! God bless.

  2. “If I put Adsense on this blog, earn from it, but continue to post like I do, I don’t think I’m a problogger.”

    I agree. I’m *very* reluctant about throwing the term problogger around.

    Thanks for mentioning Stellify, by the way. 🙂

  3. I quit me call center job primarily because I wanted to focus on our web design company my wife, Gail and I started a year ago. And since we’re in the web business, problogging (which I define simply as ‘making money out of blogging’) makes a lot of sense for us. Plant your ‘blog seeds’ now and hopefully you start reaping the rewards soon.

    But honestly, I blog because I enjoy doing so. Somehow I think blogging contributes to one’s personal growth. Earning from it is just a sideline or bonus.

  4. […] wrote a reaction to my post earlier during the week about blogging and the day job conflict of interest. Thought […]

  5. Yes, unfortunately not everyone can be probloggers. 😦

  6. I honestly don’t see myself as a problogger since I could never quit my job, I’d have to blog 24 hours, 7 days a week to replace my current income.

    I think for most, blogging is a passion. You write because you have to. As in my case, I find my writing to be cathartic and a sense of a greater purpose is always there as well.

    Those who jump into problogging should only do so if they have passion for writing, and if they can sustain themselve in the process.

  7. As much as I want to be a problogger, well this is the first time I’m hearing about this, I just don’t have the time. And I blog for the fun of it.

Leave a Reply

