The SCJP Review Process

I’m reviewing for the Sun Certified Java Programmer exam, version 5.0.

In my IT career, I have never taken any certifications. I was never asked for them when applying for a job.

I’m now taking it because for my current job, our outsourcing customers might look for certified people to handle their projects. We have plans to have the team certified. I’ll go first so I can coach the crew.

I learned Java in 2002, and started serious work with it in 2003. (This makes me a relative newbie in the PinoyJUG Java User crew.) Despite knowing Java for four years, I still make mistakes in the exams I’m taking. The nuances are really nasty. And, for SCJP 5.0, you need to know Generics. I have not used that language feature yet.

The best references I’ve found are Kathy Sierra + Bert Bates’ certificate review book, plus Marcus Green’s online exam at examulator.com.

I’m writing notes about the study process, and I might just blog about it. (Not here, of course! I’m trying to keep this blog non-geek-friendly.)

14 Responses

  1. good luck! 😀

  2. Java and I are not friends. Haha. I have too many bad memories on programming with Java that after my second programming project with Java in school (an eBay like web thing using Java Server Faces, an advanced version of JSP), I dropped Java and never touched it again. I’m more of a PHP and Action Script person.

    Oh yeah, and Java makes my computer slooooow.

    Just want to share. But good luck on the exam! And being the geek I am, you should tell where you’ll blog that; I might make friends with Java sometime in the future. 😉

  3. Hey, me too! I’m taking it by the end of the Feb hopefully, if the net connection are not wonky anymore (due to Taiwan quake).

    Good luck!

  4. Never tried taking certifications before either. Been wanting to though. Hope it turns out well for you.

  5. Hi Migs!

    Good luck! Try Java Ranch (http://www.javaranch.com). They have some nice links at the forum that helped me in my SCJA exam. 🙂

  6. I have no experience with coding in any sort of Java at all. That may surprise some people. 🙂

  7. Thanks for the greetings!

    Tina, I could never bring myself to learn PHP. I have tried to start so many times, but since I’m used to “elegant” languages I just get turned off with PHP. I do have plans of learning Ruby on Rails though. (I already know a little Ruby.)

    But Java is a must if you want to work on telecoms projects today.

    Re: Javaranch – I’ve been browsing through it. It was founded by Kathy Sierra, so it must count!

    seav, I know you’re a hard core machine language or C programmer…

  8. Heya Migs. Gud luck!

  9. Migs, on the contrary, I like high-level languages like Perl. Wanting to try out Ruby too. 🙂

  10. Hi Migs! I’m also studying for my scwcd next month. Javaranch is good. They answer everyone’s questions. You better watch out for errors in the book too so check the forums often. Good luck on your exam!

  11. Thanks for the tip Astrid! I have only skimmed the surface of Javaranch (the FAQ and such). Wow you’re ahead of me!

  12. Hi, would you know if 1.4 version is still widely used today? I am planning to review for a certification exam too. I have no work experience on java programming but I did a diploma course for it some years back. That was focused on 1.4. I am thinking if I go for the 310-035 exam … would that still be in demand or should I start reviewing for the 310-055. Help please. Thanks.

  13. Hi Maura,
    1.4 is still widely used – some shops require it. I do think you should study 1.5 and go for the 310-055.

  14. Java is creative programing language. I am long time searching opportunity for working in java technology. currently I am working on PHP. anybody now about JTable with swing.

Leave a Reply

