The Cuckoo’s Egg: Old School Hacking

I found a copy of the Cuckoo’s Egg at the Chapters and Pages overrun bookstore. PhP 150 only. That’s $3 for a pristine copy of the book – thanks to old school printing and binding.

The Cuckoo's Egg

The events transpired in 1986-1987, and the book was released in 1990. Still, it’s fascinating. It reminds me of my old vintage Unix days, which came much later (1994 onward). In 1986-1987 I was still learning IBM PC DOS 2.0 and WordStar, and online networks were just a bit more real than science fiction to me. (I got to read about Compuserve and the like from magazines.)

I did engage those types of Internet users, especially circa 2000. Hey, some of them might even be reading! But I eventually lost interest. It’s very time consuming in terms of actual work done and keeping up with the knowhow.

One Response

  1. […] At any rate, the chief, in his great wisdom and benevolence, has found it fit to lend me a copy of The Cuckoo’s Egg, which he wrote about here, and the book ‘Takedown’, re Kevin Mitnick hacker extraordinaire. These comprise my reading list in addition to “Where The Game Matters Most”, which I intend to begin directly upon finishing what I’m reading now. […]

Leave a Reply

