Yahoo! DNS problems

I host a few domains at Yahoo! Small Business. This offers domain registration and zone hosting, plus integration with Y! services which I don’t use. It’s relatively expensive at $9.95 per domain/year, but when I first signed up they had a promo (was it $2?). I also thought it was worth the price for high availability.
Yesterday, I noticed starbx.com was down when I tried to migrate it. I checked with ‘dig’ and yns1.yahoo.com, Yahoo!’s hosting server, was not responding. I checked with the Pingability service: http://pingability.com/zoneinfo.jsp?domain=starbx.com the server is down. It looks like a Yahoo! server failure

Rimuhosting offers DNS hosting bundled with their VPS server. Since I wanted starbx.com up,  I “unlocked” the domain and pointed the NS records to Rimuhosting.  I set up the A records there.
Today, Yahoo! DNS is back.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

