Media Temple GridServer: I Give Up

After suffering through Media Temple GridServer outages, I thought things were normal in the weeks after that. A few days ago, I got a WordPress error saying that it could not connect to MySQL. OK, it happens.

What scares me is when I get MySQL errors inside WordPress.

Media Temple GridServer Bug

I tried connecting through the command line MySQL client. It hangs on this database (starbx.com), but succeeds on the other one (the one powering this blog) . It looks like serious trouble.

When editing this post, I got a “Lost connection to MySQL server during query.” I’m pretty sure this happens when people update the database, like posting comments.

I signed up for a Virtual Private Server (VPS) which I have used in the past. The down side here is that httpd and mysql might have load problems with the limited memory. I have hit this problem before with VPS solutions. The up side is that I have full control over what’s happening.

I’ll post an update when the new host is running.

5 Responses

  1. […] I find it a hassle to use FTP and web-based file managers to handle files on CPanel. The GridServer, which I gave up on and cancelled, did allow ssh. This is a “fun” server, just to host blogs and other experiments, so I chose Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Drake LTS. (My home desktop is on 6.10 Edgy.) RimuHosting does have a RHEL respin option, which I would choose if and when I run a production service. […]

  2. Thanks for the update Migs. Good thing I did not push through with moving my site to (mt). My site still experiences hiccups once in a while, but I think I can forgive that as long as they can get my site back up in 10-15minutes (unless they’re doing server maintenance — which I hate because they don’t tell me beforehand!)

  3. In all fairness……

    Miguel Paraz may have quit but, in the interest of fairness, I must say that recently I have not been experiencing the problems that I was before. I am looking forward to seeing how things pan out over the next couple weeks and thinking of using an up …

  4. I’m having the same issue with:
    Mysql::Error: Lost connection in my Rails app. Time to rethink if their Grid is really worth it.

  5. so,media temple is acting up again! mysql connection issues for 2 wordpress sites.

    I called and I was not really helped. moving my staging are now for wordpress sites.

Leave a Reply

