My Pink N70: Still Good

I have a pink Nokia N70.

Pink Nokia N70, Back

Yes, it’s pink. My significant other got it from her brother, then she replaced the casing. I got her the N70 Music Edition.

I’m not changing the case yet. It’s a conversation piece. I’ll wait for it to wear out. Only one bad stare so far on the LRT2.

At first I hesitated in spending money on a phone that’s a year old. Series 60 2nd ed? 3rd ed is already current.

But it seems that the N70 still has a good price niche. It’s fairly common, so there are better chances of bringing it out on the street.

Recto/Divisoria

I was thinking about the Nokia 6233.

Nokia 6233

But Series 40 phones only have a mobile web browser. No S60 browser (only on 3rd ed so I don’t have it). No Opera. Only Opera Mini, the J2ME app with transcoding. The 3G isn’t very useful here – maybe only for laptop connectivity. The 6233 doesn’t even have a front-facing camera for video calls – as if people make video calls?

Last night, I made a 3G data call for the laptop for the first time. I was at a place with no broadband and a noisy phone line – dialup is only 28.8Kb/s or so. For casual use, the Smart 3G 10 pesos/30 minutes plan is not bad.

Through the connection status monitor, I saw that I got up to 17KB/s down, and up to 10 KB up. I couldn’t complete a Flickr Uploader session to upload to my Flickr account. It was HTTP only – no Yahoo Messenger among other things.
It sometimes suspends and disconnects the 3G sessions – maybe because I was in a closed room. I still need to retest under “clear” conditions.

For the N73 imaging/autofocus temptation – I think my shots (in Flickr) are good enough for my phonecam photography. Especially in the daytime.

12 Responses

  1. That pink case is so *you*!

    Can’t make any phone recommendations, about 3 years ago I gave up trying to keep track of the new phones on the market. 😀

  2. So me? Yikes!!

    You don’t need phones already… since you’re on Blackberry, right?

  3. Hey, pink IS manly. =P

  4. Really, really…

  5. surfing, surfing… i didn’t know you had a pink phone!!! 😛

  6. Yeah my classmates at my reunion last night were… surprised.

  7. […] S60 3rd Edition Envy. Or, N73 envy. While the pink N70 is doing great, web browsing isn’t too great. No, it’s not the small screen. Opera Mobile is fine. […]

  8. my phone is nokia 6233. i like it coz it’s slip-proof. it has a rubber-grip at the back (can’t think of a better term… 🙂 ) so it doesn’t easily slip from your hand. hubby gave me this phone last august, and to date, i only dropped it twice… lol…. by the way, pink for men is fine. no more color codes these days. pink only for women or blue only for men is passé.

  9. Cool. I may still get a 62xx phone. But, 3G for me is useless without a full web browser. (Abe how do you manage?)

    I’m the only guy with a pink cellphone and its great for the novelty factor!

  10. […] My affair with smartphones is taking a break. I gave up the N70 – why? I’ll share the reason later. […]

  11. […] Nokia N70. I wrote the pink N70 is still good, I got this from someone, but I gave it to someone else, because I find S60 too cumbersome and the phone is too big now that I need to carry 3 phones. […]

  12. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you aftually
    know what you’re speaking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Kindly additionally visit my website =). We can have
    a link exchange contract between us

Leave a Reply

