Java, Rails and programming for fun

Despite its flaws, Java is the most practical language to use in the enterprise, mobility and telecoms stuff I do. Now that the Java core will be open source, it’s more useful now.

I’ve been looking at Java ESB, JBI and SOA. I’m now reading on EJB 3.0 again, and going through Joshua Bloch’s Java Puzzlers. But Java is no longer fun – though Bloch’s book helps.
I’ve been looking for the next thing for my personal projects. I need to keep my programming edge.
I think Ruby and Rails is become the tool to use for the web. I got Agile Web Development with Rails, Second Edition. Some of it is shocking, coming from a “rigid” Java background. I hope to deploy it for something, soon.

I expect that some clients might ask for Rails for work-for-hire jobs.

6 Responses

  1. shocking? how so? am interested because i use both ror and wicket (java) and i’ll probably never get a copy of awdwr. which one did you find shocking, the language, the framework, or the book? why was it shocking to you? i assume it’s because you find something “nonrigid” in it. if yes, what exactly is nonrigid about the language/framework/book?

  2. Alright, perhaps I exaggerate with “shocking.”

    What is very different for me is the convention over configuration paradigm. Especially when you refer to plurals of the entity objects, and you create .rhtml files named after the controller, without specifying it in a config file.

    The language really is nonrigid but not shocking since I have taken a look before. I have also used Python before so it’s no surprise.

    The AWDWR book is quite nice, but I need some practice with a real app to really learn RoR.

  3. “Java is no longer fun”. Heh. I think I passed the point of saturation about two years ago. Java is now just work for me. I gets a project, I does it, and I gets paid. That’s it.

    Ruby and RoR I probably can get into — I took a dip through a couple of tutorials before, and it seems simple and elegant enough — but ease-of-use for a developer is oftentimes inversely proportional to app performance. That kind of takes the “fun” out of it for me.

    Wonder if there’s such a thing as “designing for fun”? or “architecting for fun”? But then again, I’ll just have a bunch of UML diagrams to show for it afterwards. Pretty useless hehehe.

  4. Same here, it pays the bills.

    But it still needs to have some element of fun, to get encouraged to learn new stuff, and to inspire the team! So, I’m still looking for new Java stuff. Java Puzzlers by Bloch is a fun read but it’s not something you can practice right away.

    Designing and architecting for fun? Not fun per se, but this may happen if and when you build or maintain a full open source product. I haven’t gone there, alas.

  5. Good day,

    Java is a complete solution, actually Ruby on Rails is just a web framework, you are trap in it, but in Java there are many web framework – Struts, JSF, etc. – or if you are hardcore you can create one. One of the criticism of RoR is that it was just created to sell more books.

    Being a Java programmer, there are tons of fun still left in the language. But it’s not going to hurt mastering another language.

  6. Yes there are fun stuff in Java but I’m looking for something different from what I use for work. And with Sun’s recent moves, it looks like they want to cater to the RoR crowd as well.

    Rails for selling books? Haven’t heard of it.

Leave a Reply

