Why I am not a Problogger

A local problogger asked me: why don’t I go pro? Honestly, I don’t see myself being a fulltime blogger. Perhaps the closest would be an open source develoepr + SEO/SEM marketer + reader/writer/analyst (in other words, a blogger). I can’t blogging to earn my keep. I am happy with my job. Even if it pays less than some blogger earnings I’ve heard, I can’t imagine how much work it would take to reach them. Also, working with a company gives you access to technologies and opportunities that are out of reach of the solo developer.

Well maybe I could be an “enterprise blogger” – blogging about work and professional stuff, but not for ad revenues and sponsorship. Blogging for influence, perhaps?

Another reason the problogger gave was, don’t you want to just follow your passion? Well I don’t see blogging as my passion – it’s just a complement to what I’m doing. What I’m doing at work now is pretty aligned with my passion so I’ll keep on doing it.

14 Responses

  1. How does one become a problogger anyway? How can one consider himself a problogger? Is it merely through your own site or does someone hire you?

  2. You either get paid by a network, or you earn it through your own ads and sponsorships. For the local perspective on problogging, the Yugatech Problogging Category is a good starting point.

  3. Well I don’t see blogging as my passion – it’s just a complement to what I’m doing. What I’m doing at work now is pretty aligned with my passion so I’ll keep on doing it.

    ==> My thoughts exactly. I blog because I like sharing my thoughts on my passions, not because blogging itself is my passion. I’m not giving up my job (but I’m planning to quit by next year to put up my own biz) and I never won’t trade my job (or soon, my business) for pro-blogging. Earn from blogging as “sideline” yes, but relying on it entirely for a living, no.

  4. Blogging is sort of my sideline since I make a little income from my old blog and some other blogs.

    I guess a problogger is someone who makes the bulk of their income from blogging.

  5. Nice. But it isn’t bad to have some few revenues, right? 🙂

  6. Yes. I do, and I’ll post about SEO/SEM/monetization sometime.

  7. […] Migs Paraz, another popular blogger, also added his two-cents’ worth and explained why he is not a problogger. Interesting thoughts. A local problogger asked me: why don’t I go pro? Honestly, I don’t see myself being a fulltime blogger. Perhaps the closest would be an open source develoepr + SEO/SEM marketer + reader/writer/analyst (in other words, a blogger). I can’t blogging to earn my keep. I am happy with my job. Even if it pays less than some blogger earnings I’ve heard, I can’t imagine how much work it would take to reach them. Also, working with a company gives you access to technologies and opportunities that are out of reach of the solo developer. […]

  8. […] Lots of interesting discussion there. Expect this when you’re doing something disruptive. Abe dispenses problogging advice freely. Even if you don’t make it your career, it’s all good stuff. […]

  9. Nothing wrong becoming a problogger. Lagot ka lang kung binibigyan mo ‘yan ng iyong oras kaysa GF mo. 😛

  10. But if it’s your job, or part of your income strategy, then your girlfriend/wife/significant other should not mind!

    It would be bad if you spend lots of time blogging, web marketing and SEO and have nothing to show for it except your own entertainment.

  11. […] Ultimate Problogger Abe will be in Jakarta for more blogging work travel. […]

  12. […] I am not a Search Engine Optimizer. I just work on SEO for fun, for spreading my blogs’ influence, and of course for some extra income Like the way I’m not a problogger, I don’t make the Internet my primary source of cash. It’s just extra investment money. […]

  13. […] For now, I just want to blog here to practice writing and share ideas. In the past I had grand plans of blogging about topics regularly. But I’m not a problogger, so that didn’t quite work out. […]

  14. […] has been debated in the past, but I think it’s becoming clear to me. I posted earlier on why I’m not a problogger, but now I see it’s less about the money and more about the effort. If I put Adsense on this […]

Leave a Reply

