Nokia N70 Music Edition and Phone Choices

The Nokia N70 Music Edition is just a slightly modified N70. All black housing, bundled 1 GB RS MMC card, a “music” key instead of the “multimedia key,” and extra themes loaded in the card. My guess is that: the N70 and Series 60 2nd Edition are still a viable platform, so Nokia can churn out more units. Or maybe the N91 is a dud so they need to make up.

I bought a new unit yesterday at Memo Express, Mall of Asia at the Equitable/Banco de Oro Card “Grand Gadgets Blowout” installment event. I swapped it for an N70 original edition and took the memory card. This N70 was acquired through Smart and is locked, and the user needed a Globe or open line one.

So, I’m down to a N70 from my previous N80 which was lost last month. In the month without the N80, I went back to my older Sony Ericsson K700i. The only feature I missed was 3G and WiFi, the S60 browser for desktop websites, and the camera. With the N70, I get 3G, but no browser so Opera will have to do. Even if the N70 is 2MP compared to the N80’s 3MP, it’s no big deal because the N80’s cam is noisy at 3MP and I lower it to 1MP anyway. 2MP should be good enough for candid cam photography, better than the K700i’s VGA.

I was thinking about an N73 for the autofocus camera, for But, the price is still too high especially for a unit without WiFi, and I read mixed reviews. I also had a chance to try Abe’s 6233 but it only has the stock Nokia browser for mobile websites. Of course you could use a server-side proxy, like what some operators provide. (Smart has one in their mobile homepage). Another interesting unreleased phone is the E61i, the keyboard/push email machine that some of my colleagues use, this time with a camera.

The last benefit of using an N70 instead of a flashier phone: less chance of being stolen, and less hassle if lost. I hope!

97 Responses

  1. Heh. So you’re no longer a Neo-Luddite? 😉

  2. Maybe not. Since I joined my new job, I found smartphones more useful, and my home PC (and tweaking PC hardware) less useful.

  3. […] Yes, it’s pink. My significant other got it from her brother, then she replaced the casing. I got her the N70 Music Edition. […]

  4. Happy new year.I want to know what changes done in n70M than n70. i am using n70.what will be difference in between N70 & N70M.

  5. Hi Sachin,
    The differences between N70 and N70 Music Edition are not much:
    1. Black casing.
    2. “Music” key instead of “Multimedia” key.
    3. Different firmware.
    4. 1 GB RS-MMC card bundled, with extra themes.

  6. hi,
    I want to take a new music phone,
    which will be the best for that?
    My budget is upto 17000/-.
    How is the music quality of new nokia N70 music edition?
    hows the external speaker of the same?
    please let me know.

  7. Hi Dheeraj,
    Based on your IP address, you’re in India… so is that 17,000 INR? Yeah the N70 Music Edition will fit your budget.

    But, the external speaker is exactly the same as the N70. No high fidelity there.

  8. How can i activate the pre-loaded songs

    thanx in advance

  9. I have had nothing but problems with this phone it crashes on a regular basis the NOKIA N70 I HAVE TRIED TO GET A REPLACEMENT WHILE IT GETS REPAIRED THEY GAVE ME A PHONE THAT HAD A BLACK AND WHITE SCREEN.I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS I WILL TELL EVERYONE I CANTHEY WILL PAY!!!!!

  10. I have had nothing but problems with this phone it crashes on a regular basis the NOKIA N70 I HAVE TRIED TO GET A REPLACEMENT WHILE IT GETS REPAIRED THEY GAVE ME A PHONE THAT HAD A BLACK AND WHITE SCREEN.I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS I WILL TELL EVERYONE I CAN THEY WILL PAY!!!!!

  11. this phone sux more than any phone i have ever had it crashes daily.i have tryied to take it back they telstra shop tryed to give me a black and white phone.

  12. what is difference between nokia 6233 and nokia 6233 music edition,i am going to buy this mobile,but can any one tell me how to identify the music edtion compare to normal nokia 6233

  13. Hi biren,
    “the other Migs” answered already.

    I haven’t seen it, but a white doesn’t seem like a good color for a 6233.

  14. i want buy n70 music edtion
    did i buy it is there any problems to purchase this cell plz send reply to my email-ID ok thanxs for ur help

  15. hi Migs..

    I am totally confused now between SE W710i and N70 ME, i wanna have music and a fone at the same time… iv read lotsa reviews bout these two fones.. i dont know what to buy..

    im a nokia fan for years, i wanna try SE this time.. but im afraid i myt not like it..

    pls help..

  16. Hi Mark,
    I have not used the SE W series, but from what I’ve read these are real music phones. The N70 ME is not. In fact I’m using a 6233 (regular, not ME) right now and I think it’s even better than N70 for music playback. It has a nice loudspeaker (important for me since I don’t like headphones.)

    The Sony Ericsson UI is much better than Nokia in many ways. The catch is that using in keypad for SMS is different.

  17. Hi, I m in confused state what to buy, the N70 OR N70 Music edition. Please state the differences between them by which I will be able to decide to buy anyone of them.

  18. how to activate the pre installed songs on memory card supplied with N70 music

  19. i hav n70 ME wch hav about 100 song in its 1 GB memory card wch comes with d bundle but all those r not activated.HOW TO ACTIVATE THOSE SONGS(if i dont hav net connection over my cell but hav in my pc).PLZ HELP SOMEONE
    tnxxx
    ~Sanjib

  20. hi sanjib,

    u can dial 080-30303838 & give ur mobile number, u will get the activation code.

    cheers

  21. Hi Sanjib,

    080-30303838 is of Nokia Customer care, when u will give ur number they will send u activation code through SMS.

    any query let me know

  22. i want to know the advantages and disadvantages of nokia N70 Music edition. when we buy a nokia N70 music edition which size of memory card will give. please send the answers to my mail ID nuhu367@yahoo.co.in

  23. hai iam nuhu what arethe draw backs of nokia n70 music edition and what is the music quality will it beat SE phones please send the answer to mail id nuhu367@yahoo.co.in

  24. is there a store that can do open line services on the N70?

    i wanted mine open kase.

  25. Hi,

    Please let me know how to find out Nokia N70m, whether its Original or duplicate. What r the differences we can identify with Original & duplicate set. Whether on Mobile it wil be mentioned as N70 or N70m.

    Please let me know at the earliest.

    Thnx,
    Lawra.

  26. Nokia N70 can use others country firmware?
    Is that others country firmware will be better?or more steady?
    Please help

    thx

  27. Nokia N70 can upgrade N73 firmware? suitable?

  28. About…

    Song activation: Sorry, I don’t know about that. I never bothered.

    Size of memory card: 1GB for my retail package. Maybe it has been upgraded?

    Disadvantages: I don’t think there are any?

    Open line: I don’t think Nseries unlock codes are available yet.

    Original or duplicate: What do you mean, original or fake? I guess you can check from the firmware version.

    Other country’s firmware: I don’t think there’s “other country’s firmware,” just other operators. I don’t know the pros/cons.

    N73 firmware: No, definitely not, the N73 is very different. And it’s S60 3rd Edition, N70 is 2nd Edition.

  29. hi
    Can nokia 6300 change to E50 firmware?

  30. what is the content of the package of the N70 music edition?
    what is the difference of the unit of the N70me made in china and made in finland, and which is better…thanks….

  31. 6300 to E50 firmware: I don’t know. Are they the same hardware platform?

    Package contents: From memory, it’s the same as N70 plus the 1GB RSDVMMC card. Nothing else music related.

    China or Finland: I don’t know.

  32. Hi All,

    Please let me know how to identify the Originality of Nokia N70. Whether on top of the mobile it will be mentioned as N70 or N70m.

  33. i have bought nokia N70 Music edition .i dont have activation key of pre loaded 101 songs.
    my mobile IMEI no is 351863017380797
    Please Send the activation key to activate my songs

  34. Someone stole my N70 phone today morning.
    Can it be traced using the IMEI number?
    IMEI No. – 357863016364099

  35. hi,
    i bought a n70 music and also have the activation code but the message is not goin to 5555………
    why is tat so…..
    is there any other alternative thro which i can activate the pre loaded songs
    thnx in advance

  36. hey,
    i have dis n70 M.E. and my sis has a n73 multimedia fone….. i hv seen dat da led lite sensor in n73 emits consatntly a blue lite…… is da same thing for n70?????? and also at nokia.com i read dat i can update my software….. is it good and will it affect my fone in any way??????

  37. what’s really the difference of n70 to n70 music edition.. thank you!

  38. i hv N70.
    nd i want activation key for preloaded songs.so how can i get activation key?

  39. i have the N70. It has a black panel. . Its not the music edition. On the packing box its written N70-1. . . . What is the difference. . . I also want to get the music edition aheadphones. . . Will i get a good sound quality like the N70 me. . . . .

  40. difference b/w n70 & n70 m.
    N70 is capebale for 1gb m card.
    What,s the difference of music quality b/w n70 & n70m.

  41. my IMEI no. is 353766009740035
    pls send the personal licence key for activation for ultra mp3 player & send my mailing address
    thanx

  42. How can i activate the pre-loaded songs.

    thanks

  43. I want to know the advantages and disadvantages of n70m
    Please send it soon tomy e-mail address
    irfaandterminator@gmail.com

  44. How i can activate my preloaded songs on n70-1 where i can get the key.

  45. Hi miguel,
    I am thinking to buy a Nseries. I have two options. 1)N72 and 2)N70M. which one would be the best in case of CAMERA,PERFORMANCE,FEATURES,SOUND and DESIGN? please suggest.

  46. Hello People,
    Good Morning.
    I am a customer of Nokia & I’m using Nokia 6233 Music Edition.As it is not a Symbian Phone, i want to buy a NOKIA N70. Please any one tell me describely what’s the difference between N70 & N70 Me.Also tell me is it wise to leave my 6233 to buy N70?Is the music is better in n70 than my 6233?How about the operating speed between n70 & n70 ME?

  47. kamalakanta pradhan is here.
    I have bought N73 music Ed.
    Can I get activation key for preladed music, if yes plese tell how?

  48. dear Biswadeep N70 M is far better than N72..
    N72 is not comparable with N70M..

  49. hello… pls. let me know the compatible external speakers for N70 me, whether is it NOKIA MD3? or MD4? or any other model? I can’t listen music in a long run of time using my head set…
    will u please answer me at my email add… sheldon_214@yahoo.com
    also post your answer here, maybe they
    wanted to know too..
    thank you!

  50. There are lots of hindi film song titles in my New Nokia N73 phone. But it needs Activation Code. From where can I get this code?

  51. Where can i get activation keys for preloaded songs on n73

  52. hi
    sir my cell missing last 2day’s b4
    i have my cell IMEI no is
    351863012403495
    i want to know who can use this cell
    i have every thing about my cell bill paper & cell box

  53. which one is better nokia 6300 or its N70 music edition?

  54. Sir,
    I baught one Nokia N70 Music Edition. But after that one of my friend told me that it is not in original one. so how i can findout whether its original or not. This IMI No: is 356294/01/489413/2.
    Please give me the right aswer for this as soon as possible.

    Thankin You
    Shahir Vs
    Admin Manager
    Regency, 26/27,
    Poonamallee H Road
    Chennai – 3
    Mobile – +91 938885553334

  55. when i format my 1gb memory card its show me it is memory card courrpted. so gv the suggestion what to do.is there any software to format memory card..i want answer as soon as possible…,

  56. Hey all people…
    First i salute nokia for making N series. I am a subscriber of Nokia 6233 Music edition,black….. But as i’m an advanced user, it doesn’t fit my wishes…. I want to exchange my 6233 with Nokia N 70 from any person from Bangladesh….. Especially my SYLHET district. My phone has no problem at all and It’s better than N70 in music quality and camera and display. But i need symbian…’s60 series. Its has capability of minimizing programmes, which i need most…. SO PLEASE ANY1 FROM BANGLADESH CONTACT ME:+88 01726784690
    please don’t dissappoint me……..

  57. n70ME not songs active.
    song activation key.

  58. hi.
    my small sis deleted all d songs
    pre loaded in my n70 m cel.pls suggest how to reload thm back.also pls tel how to get pin no to activate thm.

  59. “tell me how 2 find out my stolen nokia N70M

  60. a great confusion betwn N72&N72(m). pls suggest which one 2 buy so that I can fully utilise it.

  61. which one should i buy n70 music edition or W810i

  62. sir my name is chandra pal singh i purchsed cell on 22August2007 My cellN 70(m) is stolen. i have lodged FIR in my local police station & i got my old mobile no.91-9829641049 back(duplicate)but not my mobile yet. kindly trace my mobile i m very much depressed.
    Detail about N70(m)
    Bill no. NCSO708\CM005754
    IMEI no.356294017366948
    TIN no. 08442109333
    my old mobile no.(Duplicate)tht i got back through police FIR is 91-9829641049
    plzzzzzzzzzzzz help me to trace my mobile i m very my depressed.
    chandra pal singh from jaipur

  63. hiii alll…
    firstly i dont now what happen to my N70. but i’ve already read lots of comment and good sugestion from lots of forum in the internet.
    i get something new. that i didnt no what happen.but u should try this. i’ve change my N70 code number into N70ME code number. then the result when i update my firmware, i thinks i get the N70ME firmware.my players sounds become more powerfull then before.N70ME themes.
    e-mail me for more infomation
    termocure@yahoo.com
    *sry for my broken language…

  64. follow this links. for the code please e-mail me or u may try the links.

    http://www.techenclave.com/forums/how-upgrade-n73-n70-respective-music-84871.html

  65. Dear Sir,

    I bought Nokia N70.I got for enjoy 100 pre-loaded songs but which are not activated by provided code to SMS on 5555. There is any alternate to get activate these songs by internet connection.Kindly send detail information on my mail immediately.

  66. I have Nokia N70.If I change the pannel to black
    and memory to 1Gb will my phone become
    Nokia N70 music eddition?
    Or any other chane in music eddition?
    Please reply fast.

  67. hi,
    i bought a n70 music and also have the activation code but the message is not goin to 5555………
    Is there any other alternative thro which i can activate the pre loaded songs
    thnx..

  68. please tell me the current price of nokia n 70 music edition

  69. difference between nokia n 70 music edition & nokia n 70

  70. i have sent a mesage of activatio key to 5555 but not get activate songs, tell me the other process for activation.

  71. i have a n70 mobile phone..just want to know how to open line it and use my other sim?so that i dont’t have to pay for this service…tnx..

  72. my n70 phone no signel no operator logo,why?some one say signel ic damege how can rapear,i try to munual network serch its not sopport

  73. how to access my ultra mp3, i need a code. pls send me that code so that i enjoy listening music to my phone n70. my IMEI is 351863014662437. thank you!! send me asap!!!!!!

  74. i need my code to access my mp3..my IMEI is 351863014662437…send me asap!!!!!thnx

  75. Please do not even think to buy nokia N70 music edition. It hangs very frequently. Process is too slow.

  76. hi I’m yogesh.I need to know how to activate internet on my mobile nokia N70 music edition

  77. pl. tell me the current price of Nokia N70 Music Eddition

  78. MY N 70 IS A LITLE BIT SLOW IF ANY1 GOT A WAY TO MAKE IT FASTER LET ME KNOW. MINE IS A NOKIA N70 MUSIC EDITION. MY EMAIL IS MANMOHANJIT1@HOTMAIL.COM. IT HAS 1 GB MEMORY CARD. I M PLANING TO CHANGE 2 N95 IF IT CANT BE FASTER.TQ

  79. it’s ok if you have n70 because you can put 1 GB memory in it… and try to download the same theme like the n70 ME… N70 still rocks!

  80. hey you manmohanjit, I suggest you to throw away your n70 in the trashcan and buy another n70 to gangster

  81. hey jr fines, your code number in your n70 music edition is incorrect kindly put this code into your n70. 87320568215463254995459527248582989486050157 …

    read it carefully! Ciao Boy! know it
    will work ! 100% correct code..

  82. hey zoran simonoski dot moko moko, it’s your fault you bought n70. who do you think who sucks? The owner or the n70??!?!? buy wisely! vote wisely! Merry Christmas! Let’s eat porkchop

  83. hey yogesh, I suggest you to buy computer not n70! then subscribe to DSL so you have your internet!

  84. hey Arabinda Saha, try to look in some gangsters in your place then you can buy cheap n70 just be careful for some police officers out there because it’s illegal…

  85. Hi im planning to buy a new nokia fone with radio(FM), camera and MP3(optional).Im a kinda person who buys new fones often.The one im using is 3 years old !!.Kindly give me suggestions and the rpice im looking for will be betwn 10000 /- and 12000 /-.

    thanks

    merry

  86. I Wanna kniw difference between N70 and N70 Music Edition.Is there any difference between their speakers.

  87. Hey i have Brand new N70 Music edition . And its memory card got corrupted before i could to anything Within 25 days after buying.Could please tell me how to get back the preloaded themes , games , songs , applications back to me formated memory card.

    If you have any internet link which provides the above required for free please send it to my email id.

    nikhild15@rediffmail.com

    Please

    Please Send any email.

  88. Hi,
    pls i dont what to do to my N70 nokia new edition i can download through bluethooth it will say memory full and i have enough memory on my phone.
    reply pls
    Thanks

  89. i want to get ultra mp3 licence key as soon as possible for my nokia n 70 symbian 60 series. my emi no is 356294016630997.

    thanx & regards
    umesh kaushik

  90. hello? I have an N70 Internet edtion, but still it is not that fast. Is it advisable to insatall any software to make it faster?

  91. hehehe…my n70me is slightly faster compared to my normal n70. I debrand it to music edition with the firmware 5.0705.3.0.1, good stability, with lots of symbian games, app, mp3, and has 2 gigs of kingston dual voltage mmc.

  92. im still searching for infos if the latest firmware 5.0737.3.0.1 can support up to 4 gigs dual voltage mmc. I had read some forums that its possible to support. Its interesting to try. And n70 back is better compared to n80. Its true because n80 camera has a bad quality lense. So its not all just megapixels at all. this is confirm in other webasites. hehehee…

  93. Hai guys the difference between N70,N70-1 and N70(M) is nothing but the N70(M) comes with a full black panel, 1GB MMC pre loaded with 100 songs but N70 comes with white panel and 128 MMC… then the happiest message N70-1 users is herein N70-1 is called N70 music edition it is said Nokia website please study that new N70-1 available in internet….. According to me N70-1 is faster when compared to all other S60
    phones to makes other phones speeder install RAM Booster or else you must close every applications opened not pressing red button if you press that red that application will not be closed properly to see the minimised applications hold down the menu button for a meanwhile…. And you must scan your mobile properly every week… I am an Nokia N70-1 user if you have problem with your mobile just mail me at:
    jhbalaji@live.com and if know how to solve it i will reply to you…

    ALL SOURCES ARE GOT FROM INTERNET SO I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ONE

  94. hi every boby please help
    i have a problem regarding messages using memory card i.e, messages option is not working using memory card and it is working fine while using phone memory

  95. Hi,Biodun.If ur Nokia is telling u ‘memory full’,go 2 messages-setting-other-memory in use,select memory card instead of phone memory.[but remember,all ur previous messages can not be displayed!They are in phone, remember? ]Cheers,Sani Bahaushe.

  96. Hi miGueL…

    Sir I jusT want to ask if whats the current php. price of the nokia n70 music edition.. I also want to know if its suitable for my age, Im just 14 yrs Old.. Please email me at nico_regalado@yahoo.com.. TnX in advance..

Leave a Reply

