PC Fan Tweaks

While fixing up my hard drive partitions, I always rebooted in the middle of running the PC. So, I noticed that the CPU temperature went up to an alarming 55 degrees in the daytime. At night, it’s around 45 degrees.

I’m on a two-year old Celeron D 320 (2.4 Ghz, 256 MB L2). A Preshott Prescott. Still no serious need to upgrade. Of course sometimes I feel like overhauling the whole motherboard to a Core 2, but there’s no real need. Games? No time to play and I’ll be going out of the country more often.
Since I don’t use the PC that much, it’s OK to switch to a noisier fan. I installed the Panaflo FBA09A12H to replace the FBA09A12HL low speed/low noise fan. This sits on top of a Thermalright XP-90 heatsink.
Until this, I haven’t touched my desktop PC setup in months.

According lm-sensors under Ubuntu, the CPU sensor measures around 40 degrees. Good.

The noise level went up to “normal PC” level. Bad. At least I’ll extend the life of my processor – I think.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

