Something old, Something new

The something old is my 2 year old PC. I’ve been upgrading the software. No need to upgrade the hardware. This is what’s keeping Intel from selling more.

Something new. I upgraded Ubuntu to 6.10 Edgy Eft, using “dist-upgrade.” No problems. I just needed to rebuild the proprietary NVidia driver with gcc-4.10.

Then I installed Fedora Core 6 Zod. I haven’t tweaked it. I will use this to study Xen 3. I tried that at the office but it doesn’t work out of the box under VMWare. I backed up some files from my CentOS partition, which I wiped out. Some of these were work files from more than two years ago. More of something old.

One Response

  1. […] Tonight, I tried installing it on physical hardware. My home PC. I burned Solaris 10 Update 2 x86 32-bit on a generic CDR-King “Ladybug” disc. Verified successfully. I planned to replace my Fedora Core 6 installation, which didn’t turn out too well. Xen doesn’t run to my satisfaction, and has still has issues according  to the mailing list. […]

Leave a Reply

